Calling for Management Committee nominations

Every two years the President and Management Committee positions are declared open and the AACS calls for nominations which are then decided by the AACS membership through a formal secret ballot.

Our current Management Committee is made of 4 full members, 1 associate member and the president position. Our current representatives are:

President: Paul Grundy (QDAF)

Full Member Executive

  • Mary Whitehouse CSIRO (vice President)
  • Linda Smith QDAF (Secretary)
  • Michael Bange CSIRO (Treasurer)
  • Warwick Stiller CSIRO

Associate Member Executive: Allan Williams CRDC

The roles within the Management Committee (e.g Treasurer) are decided by the incoming executive team.


We would warmly invite nominations from the membership for the positions of President, Management Committee or Associate Management Committee.

To nominate please provide the following details

  • Nomination role (President, Management Committee or Associate Management Committee)
  • Preferred name and Surname
  • Your Organisation and Position
  • Area of work/discipline
  • Why you would like to be considered for the President/executive committee (25 words max)
  • What have you got to offer the committee (30 words max)
  • Provide a photograph


Our constitution also states that the immediate Past-President shall be an ex-officio member of the Management Committee. Should there be a change of President at the AGM; this position will be in addition to the elected Management Committee.

Please email your nominations to Warwick who will be our returning officer prior to the 15th October 2019.

Warwick will not be seeking nomination for the next Management Committee and we warmly thank him for his service and support of the AACS since its inception.


The coming AGM which will be held during our research conference on Wednesday 30th October 8:00am UNE Armidale.

Cotton Industry 101 Session

Cotton Industry 101 for new students and researchers

Monday 28 October, 1.00 pm (lunch)
Red Lab, UNE campus

Alongside our mentoring program, we will be hosting our first ‘Cotton Industry 101’ aimed at new students and researchers. The session, held on the Monday lunchtime at conference, aims to help new industry members and students know ‘who’s who in the zoo’. This interactive session is open to all and is where all the different organisations’ roles and linkages are explained and the networking begins.

Lunch will be provided in the room.

RSVPs are essential for this session, please contact Sharon Downes to express your interest in attending via

Nominations are open for AACS awards 2019

The Association of Australian Cotton Scientist’s Awards 2019 (which will be presented at the Association’s conference dinner in October) are now open for nominations.

AACS award nominations

There are three awards that you may wish to consider nominating somebody or yourself:

  • The AACS Early Career Scientist Encouragement Award – acknowledges the enthusiasm and successful pursuit of cotton science by an early career scientist that encompasses the values of the Association (innovation, collaboration and impact). Submit 1 -2 paragraphs that describes this.
  • The AACS Service to Cotton Science – An award that acknowledges the substantial enthusiasm and successful pursuit of cotton science in recent times by an association member that encompasses the values of the Association (Innovation, collaboration and impact). Submit 1 -2 paragraphs that describes this.
  • The AACS Scientific Publication Award – A paper (published since the last AACS conference in September 2017) that has contributed to Cotton Science that encompasses the values of the Association (Innovation, collaboration and impact). Submit a pdf of the publication for consideration along with a sentence or two that addresses each value. 

Nominations can be emailed to AACS Secretary Linda Smith by close of business  on 20 September 2019. Include ‘AACS Award Nomination’ in the subject heading.

Previous award winners can be found here.

AACS life membership nominations

With our conference rapidly approaching, one of the pleasures of the Association’s executive is to induct life members into the association.

The criteria is a person who has retired from a research/extension/leadership position who has had a significant and longstanding career in contributing to Australian cotton science.

Please email AACS President Paul Grundy with your nominations.

Our current life members can be found here.

2019 Cotton Researcher of the Year awards announced

Congratulations to Dr Linda Smith (Department of Agriculture and Fisheries, Queensland), announced Cotton Researcher of the Year for 2019 at the recent Australian Cotton Industry Awards in Griffith.

Linda’s research in cotton pathology has had significant impact on disease management within the industry, particularly on soil-bourne pathogens such as fusarium and verticillium wilts and reniform nematode.

Congratulations also to the other finalists: Dr Jamie Hopkinson (DAF) for his work on insect resistance and natural enemies, and Kieran O’Keeffe (CottonInfo) for his contribution to agronomy development and extension, particularly in southern NSW.

More information can be found on the finalists (and nominations in previous years) from the Australian Cotton Industry Awards website.

The research awards are sponsored by Cotton Seed Distributors (CSD).

Cotton Researcher of the Year 2019 finalists Dr Linda Smith, Kieran O’Keeffe, and Dr Jamie Hopkinson (right) pose with CSD staff (left).