2019 Cotton Researcher of the Year awards announced

Congratulations to Dr Linda Smith (Department of Agriculture and Fisheries, Queensland), announced Cotton Researcher of the Year for 2019 at the recent Australian Cotton Industry Awards in Griffith.

Linda’s research in cotton pathology has had significant impact on disease management within the industry, particularly on soil-bourne pathogens such as fusarium and verticillium wilts and reniform nematode.

Congratulations also to the other finalists: Dr Jamie Hopkinson (DAF) for his work on insect resistance and natural enemies, and Kieran O’Keeffe (CottonInfo) for his contribution to agronomy development and extension, particularly in southern NSW.

More information can be found on the finalists (and nominations in previous years) from the Australian Cotton Industry Awards website.

The research awards are sponsored by Cotton Seed Distributors (CSD).

Cotton Researcher of the Year 2019 finalists Dr Linda Smith, Kieran O’Keeffe, and Dr Jamie Hopkinson (right) pose with CSD staff (left).