Nominations for the 2023 AACS awards have opened

Our Cotton Research Conference (5-7 September in Toowoomba) is fast approaching, and nominations are now open for the AACS biennial awards. These awards acknowledge members’ substantial enthusiasm and successful pursuit of cotton science or the publication of papers that encompass the values of the Association: Innovation, Collaboration and Impact.

The three AACS award categories are:

  • Early Career Scientist Encouragement Award — acknowledges the enthusiasm and successful pursuit of cotton science by an early career scientist. Previous recipients include Dr Warren Conaty, Dr Guna Nachimuthu, Dr Katie Broughton and Dr Yui Osani.
  • Service to Cotton Science Award — acknowledges the substantial enthusiasm and successful pursuit of cotton science in recent times by an association member. Previous recipients include David Larsen, Dr Lewis Wilson and Dr Michael Bange.
  • Scientific Publication Award — recognises a paper with member authorship that has contributed to Cotton Science. Previous recipients and paper details are available at our website’s AACS awards page.

This year’s award recipients will be presented at the September conference dinner, which will be hosted by the ABC’s Landline Presenter Pip Courtney.

Nominations for awards close Friday 4 August 2023 and can be made using the online submission form.


And a quick reminder: Early bird registration discounts finish on 30 June 2023, so if you intend to come, take advantage of this great offer of $55 off the full registration price.  Find out more or register now.